Click to Home
Go To Search
Emergency Alerts
City Elections
Run Off Election
Tuesday, May 24, 2016


Railroad Commission of Texas

Republican = Wayne Christian received 50.88% of vote to defeat Gary Gates.  192,599 votes for Christian to 185,887 votes for Gates. About 7,000 votes statewide.

Democratic = Grady Yarbrough received 53% of vote to beat Cody Garrett


Texas Senate 

District 1 (East Texas – seat formerly held by Kevin Eltife) 

Republican = Bryan Hughes beat David Simpson and received 69% of vote 

District 24 (Central and West Texas – seat formerly held by Troy Fraser) 

Republican = Dr. Dawn Buckingham received 61% of vote to defeat Susan King


Texas House   

District 5 (East Texas) – Republican = Cole Hefner received 60% of vote over Jay Misenheimer 

District 18 (Southeast Texas) – Republican = Earnest Bailes received 67% of vote over Keith Strahan 

District 27 (Fort Bend County) – Democratic = Ron Reynolds won over Angelique Bartholomew with 53% of vote 

District 31 (Rockwall and Collin Counties) – Republican = Justin Holland defeated John Keating in a close race 50.62% of vote to 49.37% 

District 54 (Central Texas – Killeen) – Republican = Scott Cosper beat Austin Ruiz by 43 votes (50.43% to 49.56%) 

District 64 (Denton County) – Republican = Lynn Stuckey received 65% of vote to defeat Read King (43%) 

District 73 (Central Texas – New Braunfels) – Republican = Kyle Biedermann received 55% of vote to defeat incumbent Doug Miller 

District 120 (San Antonio) – Democratic = Barbara Gervin-Hawkins beat Mario Salas 56% to 44% 

District 128 (Baytown) – Republican = Briscoe Cain beat incumbent Wayne Smith by 23 votes (50.18% to 49.81%) 

District 139 (Houston) – Democratic = Jarvis Johnson received 53% of vote to defeat Kimberely Willis (47%)


United States Congress 

District 19 – Republican = Jodey Arrington received 53% of vote to defeat Glen Robertson

For more information regarding the election, please contact the City Secretary's Office at 469.218.1207.

It is the responsibility and honor of the City Secretary's office to conduct and oversee the City Council election process for the City of Red Oak. 

Forms & Guides
Please note that all election records and campaign reports are considered open records and will be viewed as such by newspaper / media reporters and opponents.

Please, do not hesitate to call or visit the City Secretary's office if you are in need of assistance. After-hour appointments are available if necessary.

Reporting, Contributions & Expenditures
Questions regarding reporting procedures, contributions and expenditures are to be directed to the Texas Ethics Commission at (512) 463-5800 or (800) 325-8506.

Election Law
  • Questions regarding election law are to be directed to the Secretary of State at (512) 463-5650 or (800) 252-8683
  • The general election to elect officers of the city shall be held on the first Saturday in May of each year.

Elective Officers & Term of Office
  • The mayor presides over council meetings and is recognized as the official head of the city government. In the absence of the mayor, the mayor pro-tem will perform the duties of the mayor.
  • The members of the City Council of the City of Red Oak, which includes five council members and a mayor, shall be the only elective officers of the city.
  • The term of office for all elected officials of the City of Red Oak shall be for a period of three years.

Click link for Ellis County Elections Page for additional information:
Ellis County Elections

City Hall<br>Post Office Box 393<br>Red Oak, Texas 75154<br>972-617-3638 Fax: 469-218-1249