- Citation Information & Payments
Citation Information, Juveniles & Payments
ONLINE FINE INQUIRIES AND PAYMENT INFORMATION
A phone call to the court regarding your citation is not an appearance.
Online payment can be made through the Municipal Payment Portal
Please note: When you pay your fine online you are pleading “no contest” and waiving your right to a jury trial. You will be found guilty and the conviction will be reported to the Department of Public Safety (if applicable).” A conviction of an offense under a traffic law of this state or a political subdivision of this state may result in the assessment on your driver's license of a surcharge under the Driver Responsibility Program.
The Driver Responsibility Program (DRP) establishes a system that authorizes the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to assess surcharges to an individual based on certain traffic offenses that have occurred on or after September 1, 2003. Individuals are notified by mail each time a surcharge is added to their driver record. Surcharges are in addition to other fees and do not replace a suspension, revocation, denial, disqualification or cancellation resulting from the same conviction.
This program was developed to encourage safe driving habits. It requires DPS to assess surcharges to individuals based on certain traffic offenses. These surcharges are assessed in two ways, a point system, and conviction based.
- Points are assessed for Texas or out-of-state moving violation convictions: two (2) points for a conviction, and three (3) points for a conviction that resulted in a crash. Individuals are assessed a point surcharge annually if they have six (6) or more points on their driver record. For each consecutive 12 month period that an individual does not receive any points for a moving violation, one (1) point will be deducted from the individual’s total points.
- A Conviction based surcharge is a result of being convicted of any of the following; Driving While Intoxicated, No Driver License, Driving While License Invalid, and No Insurance. Points are not assessed for these offenses. A conviction based surcharge will be assessed annually for three (3) years from the date of conviction. An individual also has the option to pay all three (3) years at once.
DPS offers programs that may reduce or waive surcharges. For more information about DRP, along with details on available surcharge discounts and other surcharge assistance programs, please visit, http://www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/drp.htm.
The system will not accept payment for violations issued to Juveniles, to minors charged with alcohol or tobacco related offenses, partial payments or payments of administrative fees for court programs such as Defensive Driving or Deferred Disposition.
Citations received from the Red Oak Police Department can be viewed the following business day after the day the citation was received. Citation information will not be available to the court on the day you received your citation.
For information on driving safety, deferred disposition, payment plans, or dismissals, please view the subtitle on the left of this page
PAYMENTS BY MAIL
Payments mailed must be post marked on or before the 10 day date on your citation or before your scheduled court appearance. Allowing a court case to go into warrant status substantially increases the amount of the fines and fees due. Payment in the form of check or money order is to be made payable to the City of Red Oak. Make certain the amount sent is sufficient to pay the fine. Please contact the court if you are uncertain of the amount to mail. All incorrect checks will be returned and the case will remain open. Please put your citation number or date of birth on your check or money order.
We will not accept a check if you are paying a warrant.
PAYMENTS MADE IN PERSON
Payments may be made in person at the court office at 101 Live Oak between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, except holidays and scheduled court days. When paying in person you may use Discover, Visa, American Express or MasterCard. You may also pay by check, money order, or cashier’s check. We will not accept a check if you are paying a warrant.
PHONE PAYMENTS There is a 1% credit card fee when making a payment by phone.
JUVENILES AND MINORS
Juveniles are defined as persons 16 years of age or younger. Minors are defined as persons 21 years or age or younger on alcohol related offenses and under 18 yers of age on tobacco related offenses. State law requires the parent or legal guardian accompy the juvenile before the Judge on the scheduled court appearance. The court will automatically mail a summons to the parent or legal guardian of the date and time to appear. The notice will be mailed to the address listed on the citation that was issued to the juvenile. Juveniles who fail to appear or fail to pay their fine will be reported to the Department of Public Safety who will suspend their driver's license. If they do not have a driver's license, they will not be able to obtain one until they appear in court and all fines are paid.