Police Divisions

The structural components of the department in hierarchical order are:

  1. Bureau;
  2. Division;
  3. Unit.


A bureau is a major component under which generally related areas of functions are grouped and performed.  The three bureaus of the Red Oak Police Department are the Administrative Bureau, Operations Bureau and the Support Services Bureau.

The Administrative Bureau is commanded by the police chief.  The Operations and Support Services bureaus are currently commanded by Lieutenants.  In the absence of a Bureau Commander, the police chief will designate a bureau commander.  A bureau commander is the highest ranking officer who commands or controls a bureau.


A division is a smaller component within a bureau, having more specific areas of function.  A division is currently commanded by a lieutenant, but may be commanded by a higher ranking person.  Divisions may contain units.  Authorized divisions include:

  1. Patrol Division;
  2. Criminal Investigation Division;
  3. Professional Standards Division;

A division commander is the highest ranking person who commands or controls a division. Some divisions may have the same commander. 


A unit is a smaller component of a division whose members perform a very specific and separate function within the division (examples: Animal Care and Control Unit, Canine Unit, Community Resources Unit, Property & Evidence Unit, Records Unit).  A unit is normally commanded by a police sergeant or a civilian equivalent.  A unit commander is the highest ranking person who commands or controls a unit. 


A platoon is a subdivision of the Patrol Division and is made up of:  

  1. a sergeant;
  2. an officer in charge (OIC);
  3. a designated number of officers.

There are four platoons in the Patrol Division: Platoon A-Days; Platoon A-Nights; Platoon B-Days; Platoon B-Nights. A platoon commander is a highest-ranking person who commands or controls the platoon.